I Need a Fix

love-letters-1137558-m

When I get inspiration for something to write about, it is usually just a small “ping”.  It’s just a wisp of an idea.  The exception is my longer pieces, stories.  These I usually have at least the basic plot and flow of the story in mind before I start.

I had a real “ping” today.  http://ronovanwrites.wordpress.com/ RonovanWrites has a wonderful blog that you should take a look at.  He did a poem yesterday inspired by a picture.  You can find it here.  http://ronovanwrites.wordpress.com/2014/06/28/truth-in-a-picture/

Not only is the poem beautiful and thought provoking, but today, Ronovan went into explanation as to how the poem “wrote itself”.   http://ronovanwrites.wordpress.com/2014/07/01/how-i-wrote-a-poem/

This train of thought is what gave me fuel today.  That “ping”.

When I sit down to write, most of the time I am completely swept away by the story or point I want to make.  I fall down The Rabbit Hole.  My journey is usually one that is unexpected.

I have heard other writers make the same type of reference.  I had no idea how true it was until recently.  What may start out as a humorous story may end up being a real tear-jerker.  I just never know where my keyboard will take me.

The world falls away and I am carried to that magical, mystical place that only few know.  When I am completely immersed in something, I don’t want to pull myself back into reality.   The feeling is exhilarating and powerful!  It’s something I have come to crave.

When I don’t get my fix; when my keyboard is on strike, I feel let down, disappointed somehow.

I am not as prolific a writer as many of the wonderful people I follow on WordPress.  I want to be, believe me.  I need my fix.

Picture courtesy of Freeimages.com 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Need a Fix

  1. pieterk515 says:

    Maybe that’s why we consider writing to be a journey, for the destination might be planned, but rarely end up being what we expect it to be. A mystery of sorts.

    Great post.

  2. trentpmcd says:

    I understand the ‘Rabbit hole’ feeling, but I also know what it’s like to be in an idea drought. At some point it ends, but I can never put my finger on the exact point where it goes from forced trickles to fire-hose streaming.

Leave a Reply

