Flower Raid

 Flower Raid

It’s Spring!  What a glorious time of year!  This is my favorite time of year!  Spring flowers, rebirth and starting anew.

I guess this is why a favorite memory of mine popped into my head while out on a walk this morning.  I was walking my little dog and spotted some beautiful white irises.  It still surprises me how early these bloom in Texas.  I was wishing I could hop the fence they were behind and pilfer a big bunch of them!  They would make such a beautiful bouquet!

That’s when the memory hit me.

I used to live in the tiny town of Pilot Rock Oregon.  The population at the time was probably around 1,000 people.  My BFF, Denise and I met in Pilot Rock in our 20’s and have remained close friends ever since.

Denise and I were hanging out on a quiet Friday night.  It was early summer and quite warm.  I think the whole thing started quite innocently.  We decided to walk down to the grocery store, the only one in town, just for something to do.

Pilot Rock is small enough that you can walk from one end to the other quite easily.  There isn’t a lot to do in a town this small and we were both restless and looking for some excitement.  Being in our 20’s, I’m sure had something to do with this way of thinking.

I seem to recall that at this particular time, we were going through an “all men are scum” phase.  We passed a lovely yard that had gorgeous flowers blooming in a flower bed against the fence that lined the sidewalk.

I reached over and after quickly scanning the windows and front area of the house, plucked a huge Zinnia.  I said something about having to get our own flowers because we didn’t have anyone that would give us flowers.  (All men are scum, remember?)  Denise smiled at me and promptly reached over the fence and did the same thing.

We looked at each other and giggled.  We swiftly left the area of the crime and continued our way down the street.

A couple of houses down, we spied a yard with big white daises and we each took one of these flowers from this yard.

From that point on, we were on a mission.  By George, we were gonna have flowers, beautiful flowers, and we were gonna have a lot of them!

We went up and down the streets, from house to house, yard to yard and picked flowers.  We never decimated anyone’s yard.  We didn’t want to cause any damage.  We would only take one or two flowers each from that yard before moving on.

There were yards where we didn’t dare pick any flowers!  The owner of the property would have our hides if we were caught.  Like Old Mrs. Stickler next door to the library downtown.  She had the most Beautiful rose bushes in her front yard.  They were right next to the sidewalk with no fence between you and them.  But we were terrified to pick them.

I can remember standing just on the outer fringe of her property and watching the windows for signs of life.  Mrs. Stickler was so mean!  If you were caught by her who knows what her wrath might be!  The lights are on, so I know someone’s home.  Did I see a curtain move?  It was best not to chance it.  We moved on, too afraid to risk it.

We just knew that if someone spotted us picking flowers from their yard, we would be in trouble.  If nothing else, we would get yelled at!  So we tried to be as sneaky as we could.  We didn’t want anyone that saw us to suspect what we were up to.

The flowers we collected on our night of thievery, varied.  They were anything that was blooming at the time.  Lilies, daises, roses, zinnias, irises, bachelor buttons, etc.

Finally, we got to the point to where we each had so many flowers that they were hard to hold.  I had both hands wrapped around all the stems.  They would barely reach, I had so many.  Denise’s were the same way.

The bouquets we were holding were huge!  The bouquets fanned out and were wider than our bodies.  We could not possibly hide these flowers!  We walked home carrying these giant bouquets each of us terrified that someone was going to call the police and we would be hauled off to jail.

It was full dark by this time.  Each time a car would pass by and the headlights would hit us, I remember telling Denise to just “act natural”, like this was no big deal.  But inside I was shaking!

We made it home without incident.  No one called the cops.  We weren’t hauled off to jail.  What we did was basically harmless and we had a blast doing it.  This Flower Raid with my BFF is one of my fondest memories.

This entry was posted in Life, Stories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Flower Raid

  1. trentpmcd says:

    I’m half surprised you didn’t end this by saying that the next time you walked by the library, Mrs. Stickler came running out yelling at you, “You no good kids! Why didn’t you steal my roses? Not good enough for you?” 😉 Even without that, it’s a great little story.

  2. gc says:

    (1) Did Mrs Stickler live in a gingerbread house and wear a pointed cap as she peered at you and Denise through the lacy curtains?

    (2) Were the houses you picked flowers from owned primarily by men?

    (3) Are men still “scum of the earth?

    A good story. Anxious to read your replies. 🙂

    • 1.Mrs. Stickler did not live in a gingerbread house with a pointed cap. She stood over a big cauldron of Rainbow Stew drinking free Bubble Up.
      2) We didn’t know or care who the house belonged to. We just didn’t want to get into trouble!
      MOST men are still scum, but not all. 🙂
      Thank you Gerry. Thanks for reading!

      • gc says:

        I sincerely hope I am one of the males you write about. Scum is such a depricating word. 🙂

      • I do hope you realize that I am just teasing here and wish no offence to you or anyone else. The story is simply just told from the point of view I had at the time. I wish you nothing but the best and appreciate you looking in on me!
        Thanks! Penny

  3. Pingback: GOOD LUCK

Leave a Reply

