I’m Sorry But…

This just sticks in my craw (where IS my craw anyway?), so I’m venting!

I had someone do something to me that I felt was rude and hurtful.  When I called him on it, he said “I’m sorry but…”.     Wait, What??   I’m sorry BUT?

He continued this sentence with “that’s just the way I’ve always been”.

Did he really think this was an apology?   This man really thought that since “this is just the way I’ve always been”, that let him off the hook!  AND he thought this was an apology!

The dictionary says that an apology is an expression of regret or sorrow for having wronged another.

He didn’t sound the least bit sorry to me!  Where was this boy’s mom when he was growing up?

*The picture above has nothing to do with anything, I just thought was a cool picture.  You can find this and other free-to-use pictures at unsplash.com  

This entry was posted in Life, Stories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I’m Sorry But…

  1. gc says:

    “Familiarity breeds contempt”. Penny.

    People seem to feel that after you have known them for a while you somehow mystically understand their foibles, mannerisms and other quirky ways they have adopted.

    I am trying hard to avoid the concept of taking other people for granted but that is the idea looming on my mentl horizon. It is a real “piss off” to have someone you know and care about treat you with little or no regard.

    This is especially irritating when you inadvertently do somthing to peeve the other peron off and they act as if YOU are the most self centered and irresponsible person in the universe.

    I don’t really know how to counsel you on this one Penny. Just reaize that everday someone feels the same agitation that you just exoressed here.

    You can do three things: (1) discuss the matter with the person and express how you really feel; (2) write it off as an “oh well” incident.; (3) get even and treat the other person the way they have treated you and don’t worry about the consequences.

    The non chalant , indifferent attitude might be due to poor maternal upbringing.

    Make a decision and live with and don’t waste your time cryig over spilt milk.

    PS: “craw” —
    the stomach of a person or animal.

    Hope this helps. 🙂

    • Boy, you are so right about familiarity breeding contempt. I never really believed that or understood it until I experienced it myself.

      Luckily, I do not have to deal with this person any longer, but the Gall of this person just pissed me off so much that the experienced stayed with me for a long time. You might say that the man left an impression. 🙂

      Thank you Gerry for your thoughts on this and thank you for letting me know what my “craw” is! Take care, Penny.

  2. I’ve always thought that most apologies were self-serving and, therefore, worthless

  3. ZenLikeFuck says:

    A conditional apology isn’t an apology at all. It’s more of a justification. Hurts the hurt all the more. 😦

Leave a Reply

