Being Alone

I’m an introvert.  Big surprise, right?  I need my down time and quiet time to recharge.  I think that’s why I’m still single.  I push men away if they demand too much from me.  I’m alone a lot of the time and most of the time I don’t mind it at all.  I’m not lonely except on rare occasions.

I think about dating again once in a while and then I think, “why bother?”  I know how it will end.  I’ll push him away, we’ll both be hurt and I’ll be alone again.

I’ve gotten so that I don’t know how to do anything else other than what I’m doing.  I’ve looked back and I’ve always said that I didn’t want to be alone.  But that’s exactly the path I’ve chosen.

This entry was posted in Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Being Alone

  1. gc says:

    Sometimes Penny you just have to trust your instincts.

    For many people dating is like Christmas morning. The gifts are all wrapped under the tree. The hot chocolate has been made and we all gather around the tree to get “our fair” share of the swag.

    But even the most elegantly wrapped Xmas gift has its share of flaws, imperfections and hidden agenda that we all overlook because the wrapping was so nice.

    The same in life. We admit to the fact that we all “need” someone in out lives. Search desperately to locate that missing part of our psyche and then wonder why after a short period of time we are licking our psychological wounds because reality wrecked the once anticipated gift.

    Loneliness is akin to a roller coaster ride. There are high and low moments, quiet and together ones and moments when we all try to pretend that our choice and not reality destroyed the magical moments of bliss and togetherness.

    Hang in there Penny.

    Give life and yourself a chance. 🙂

Leave a Reply

